This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 99508

Summary: Generated code cannot be compiled BorderLayout.PAGE_START
Product: javame Reporter: Lukas Hasik <lhasik>
Component: CDC packAssignee: Petr Suchomel <psuchomel>
Status: RESOLVED WONTFIX    
Severity: blocker Keywords: RELNOTE
Priority: P3    
Version: 6.x   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: DEFECT Exception Reporter:
Bug Depends on: 99826    
Bug Blocks:    
Attachments: project with the PAGE_START

Description Lukas Hasik 2007-03-30 10:31:22 UTC
070328

-cdc project with Nokia S80 platform
-use border layout and put a component to frame
-it generates code e.g. add(label1, java.awt.BorderLayout.PAGE_START); 
-you cannot compile it

do-compile:
Skipping C:\Documents and Settings\Lukas\My
Documents\NetBeansProjects\m8\CdcNokiaApplicationDEbug\build\compiled because it
already exists.
cdcnokiaapplicationdebug\Main.java added as cdcnokiaapplicationdebug\Main.class
doesn't exist.
Compiling 1 source file to C:\Documents and Settings\Lukas\My
Documents\NetBeansProjects\m8\CdcNokiaApplicationDEbug\build\compiled
Using modern compiler
Compilation arguments:
'-d'
'C:\Documents and Settings\Lukas\My
Documents\NetBeansProjects\m8\CdcNokiaApplicationDEbug\build\compiled'
'-classpath'
'C:\Documents and Settings\Lukas\My
Documents\NetBeansProjects\m8\CdcNokiaApplicationDEbug\build\compiled'
'-sourcepath'
'C:\Documents and Settings\Lukas\My
Documents\NetBeansProjects\m8\CdcNokiaApplicationDEbug\build\preprocessed'
'-target'
'1.4'
'-bootclasspath'
'F:\emulators\CDC\S80_DP2_0_PP_SDK\lib\charconv.zip;F:\emulators\CDC\S80_DP2_0_PP_SDK\lib\classes.zip;F:\emulators\CDC\S80_DP2_0_PP_SDK\lib\locale.zip;F:\emulators\CDC\S80_DP2_0_PP_SDK\lib\ppro-ui.jar;F:\emulators\CDC\S80_DP2_0_PP_SDK\lib\ext\s80ext.zip;F:\emulators\CDC\S80_DP2_0_PP_SDK\lib\ext\jdbc.jar'
'-encoding'
'Cp1252'
'-g'
'-source'
'1.4'
The ' characters around the executable and arguments are
not part of the command.
File to be compiled:
C:\Documents and Settings\Lukas\My
Documents\NetBeansProjects\m8\CdcNokiaApplicationDEbug\src\cdcnokiaapplicationdebug\Main.java
C:\Documents and Settings\Lukas\My
Documents\NetBeansProjects\m8\CdcNokiaApplicationDEbug\src\cdcnokiaapplicationdebug\Main.java:38:
cannot find symbol
symbol  : variable PAGE_START
location: class java.awt.BorderLayout
        add(label1, java.awt.BorderLayout.PAGE_START);
1 error
Comment 1 luky 2007-04-02 10:49:20 UTC
PAGE_START is not a property of BorderLayout in PP1.0/1.1. We must ask Matiz 
team how to generate proper code

Comment 2 luky 2007-04-03 14:49:27 UTC
We depends on form editor
Comment 3 Lukas Hasik 2007-04-26 15:12:25 UTC
detailed steps:

-create new Mobility > CDC Application on platform Nokia S80 CDC PP SDK
-let the Create Main class selected when creating the project, press finish
-new project is created, form opened, the layout otf the form is BorderLayout
-add label from the palette to top(important) of the empty form.
-go to source
->uncompilable code 
        add(label1, java.awt.BorderLayout.PAGE_START);
Comment 4 Lukas Hasik 2007-04-26 15:16:32 UTC
Created attachment 41739 [details]
project with the PAGE_START
Comment 5 luky 2007-04-30 11:05:32 UTC
Bug 99826 was fixed - this should fix our problem
Comment 6 Lukas Hasik 2007-06-08 16:15:14 UTC
verified 070607
Comment 7 Lukas Hasik 2007-07-27 09:56:06 UTC
I have to reopen this issue. We still have this problem with CDC TK :(
Comment 8 luky 2007-08-08 16:09:36 UTC
We can't repair it just now as it is significant change in Form editor. However this isue is not blocking user from 
using AGUI. Please add to the release notes that this issue happens only when you change the default layout (free 
form) to border layout and there is a workaround: In the property editor for the offending component you can change by 
hand value of property layout -> direction to to some of the offered values
Default layout won't generated this problem
Comment 9 Petr Suchomel 2008-11-16 19:59:31 UTC
Easy workaround. I am not planning to fix in near future because it requires significant update in form
Comment 10 Quality Engineering 2009-11-02 11:16:05 UTC
NetBeans.org Migration: changing resolution from LATER to WONTFIX