This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 28936

Summary: Display static fields of the current frame's class
Product: debugger Reporter: Marian Petras <mpetras>
Component: JavaAssignee: Martin Entlicher <mentlicher>
Status: CLOSED FIXED    
Severity: blocker CC: bht
Priority: P2 Keywords: UI
Version: 3.x   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Exception Reporter:
Bug Depends on: 80090    
Bug Blocks: 89617    

Description Marian Petras 2002-11-22 11:32:21 UTC
Some very simple ("Hello, world!"-like)
applications do not create instances of classes at
all and the application is completely run in a
static context. When debugging, there is no easy
way of watching values of the class's static field
as the fields are not displayed in the "Local
Variables" panel of the Debugger Window.

The typical scenario is described in bug #28612.

Implementation of this enhancement is quite
important especially for novice Java programmers
(writing such simple applications).
Comment 1 Roman Ondruska 2005-05-10 14:46:16 UTC
The only work-around is to use watches or tooltip.
Comment 2 Martin Entlicher 2005-12-12 14:45:50 UTC
I agree. If there is no "this" node, there should be "Static" node with the
static fields (if there are some).
Comment 3 Martin Entlicher 2006-07-07 17:51:57 UTC
It was proposed at nbdev, to add (for static as well as non static stack frames)
something like:

[-] Static
    [+] class 
    [+] STATIC FIELD1
    [+] STATIC FIELD2
     ...
Comment 4 Martin Entlicher 2006-07-07 19:56:15 UTC
I've started to work on this.
Unfortunately this issue requires API enhancements - e.g. add a representation
of a remote class into the JPDADebugger API. Since the class representation will
be required also for other pusposes (e.g. heap-walking), it will take some time
to design this...
Comment 5 Martin Entlicher 2006-07-21 12:28:38 UTC
Fixed in trunk, by the commit of the fix of issue #80090.
Comment 6 Quality Engineering 2010-04-29 09:12:07 UTC
Verified ... and Closing all issues resolved into NetBeans 6.7 and earlier.